Slains Cottage, Cruden Bay, Peterhead,...

Cruden Bay and Local Information

Cruden Bay & the NE has scenery that keeps bringing you back to this corner of Scotland with its unique charm.
Visit the world's best known malts in the Whisky Trail or the Castle Trail to historic fortified homes.
Alternatively,escape to clifftop walks,cycle trails,fishing,golfing or simply relaxing.

Cruden Bay is a small coastal Village with a Superb Championship Golf Course and the most stunning Beach on its doorstep. 

The village can suitably cater for all your needs whilst visiting, boasting a Chemist, Gift Shop, Post Office with local produce, Newsagents with a good stock of everyday consumables, two Hotels serving excellent local food, and a Doctor Surgery for any health issues

Below is a small indication of what you can expect to do and see whilst visiting Cruden Bay and the surrounding area, together with places like Haddo House, Fyvie Castle, Pitmedden Gardens, Peterhead Maritime Heritage Centre, Aden Country Park, Grampian Transport Museum


Cruden Bay Golf Club

Cruden Bay Golf Club is a warm and welcoming club that caters for visiting golfers from across the globe. Experienced pro shop staff, first class bar and catering staff and the club's administration team ensures a warm welcome to Cruden Bay and promises that your day playing golf in Aberdeenshire will be one to remember.

1st Prize 2012 Golf Tourism Scotland Awards.

The course creates unique challenges demanding the skills of power, placement and fine judgement upon the discerning golfer. Set against a backdrop of subtly contoured greens and magnificent panoramic views, the course truly justifies its world Top 100 ranking. A visit to Cruden Bay will be a most memorable one. Cruden Bay has an 18 Hole Championship Course and the 9 Hole St. Olaf Course.


Cruden Bay Beach

Cruden Bay has the most stunning Beach with miles of golden sands 

Slains Castle, Cruden Bay

Slains Castle is one of the most famous ruins in Scotland. Slains was first erected in 1597 by the 9th Earl of Erroll. It replaces an earlier family seat to the south which was destroyed by James VI as punishment for Erroll's part in a revolt.

Subsequent Earls rebuilt and added to the castle, the last great reconstruction being completed in 1837. Johnson and Boswell visited Slains Castle during their travels in 1773 and described how "the walls of one of the towers seemed only to be a continuation of the perpendicular rock the foot of which is beaten by the waves"

Slains enjoyed its greatest days during the time of the 19th Earl when it often played host to the glittering actors, musicians and singers of the day. Amongst the guests was Bram Stoker who was entranced by the surrounding countryside which inspired many of his supernatural tales. In 1895 he began writing his best known tale, Dracula, while at Cruden Bay and he used Slains Castle as the inspiration for the castle of the evil Vampire.

There is evidence in early drafts of the story that had the evil count coming ashore at Slains Castle. In the completed book this location became Whitby in Yorkshire, another place Stoker visited while writing the book.

Death duties forced the 20th Earl to sell the castle in 1916. the new owner allowed Slains to fall into disrepair until it was unroofed in 1925. All that remains now is the large ruin.


Bullers O' Buchan (Just outside the Village)

The Bullers of Buchan is an open cave with perpendicular walls - not for the fainthearted! It is located off the A975 three miles north of Cruden Bay. This famous sea chasm is some 200 feet deep, where the ocean rushes in through a natural archway open to the sky. The cliff scenery here is some of the most spectacular in Britain.

From the car park you can follow a rough footpath, (a good head for heights is needed as parts of the path are very exposed) to the chasm and north to the Scottish Wildlife Trust's Longhaven Reserve, or follow the footpath south which will eventually bring you to Slains Castle.
The sea cliffs around this area are home to a multitude of seabirds.


Forvie National Nature Reserve

Forvie National Nature Reserve can be reached by road following the A975 coastal road from Aberdeen to Cruden Bay. Access to the Reserve can be gained via signposted entrances from the A975. The road itself skirts part of the Reserve, The Ythan Estuary.
It is managed by Scottish Natural Heritage. The estuary is the only one of its type in North-East Scotland, and Scottish Natural Heritage aims to protect its wildlife and allow visitors to enjoy the sights and sounds of the Reserve, without disturbing the wildlife residents.

The sand dune system is the fifth largest in Britain and the one least disturbed by people, making it a natural haven for birds. The soft mud flats are an ideal place for waders to feed and thousands throng here in the autumn and winter. There can be few sights as thrilling as a cloud of Golden Plovers wheeling in the sky, turning as one shifting shadow. The shingle beds are used by Terns to nest and raise their chicks. The number of bird species recorded to date is 225 with 43 of these as breeding species.

The Eider Duck, which nests on the moorland and in the sand dunes, is the bird which is most associated with the Ythan Estuary, where it has its biggest breeding colony in the U.K. with up to 6000 birds coming to the area in the summer. Even during the winter up to 1000 birds stay on the estuary with the rest of the population moving south to overwinter on the Tay Estuary. The reserve also contains the largest breeding colony of Sandwich Terns in Scotland (approx 1500), along with Artic, Common and the rare Little Tern.


Trump International Golf Links near Balmedie

Donald Trump´s new Links golf course opened in the summer of 2012.  It is only 15 minutes drive from Slains Cottage and definately worth a visit for the golfer who likes a challenge.


Murcar Golf Links, Aberdeen

Murcar Golf Course is approximately 25 miles from Aberdeen and was voted Golf Tourism Scotland Course of the Year in 2007.

Royal Aberdeen Golf Course, Aberdeen

Royal Aberdeen was founded in 1780 and given ´Royal´ designation by Edward VIII in 1903.